港澳台图库

The American Indian Youth Literature Awards: Discussion and Reflection

Thursday, 10/22/2020
  • 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Eastern)
  • 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Central)
  • 10:00 AM-11:00 AM (Mountain)
  • 9:00 AM-10:00 AM (Pacific)

Indigenous stories are all around us, but fewer than 1% of books published for kids in the U.S. are by Indigenous writers.US publishers are overwhelmingly ignoring the contributions of 574 Tribal Nations. The American Indian Youth Literature Award winners and honor books celebrate literature by Native authors and illustrators with the world. Each year AILA awards honor books by authors from different tribes and celebrates our thriving cultures, languages, and arts. This session will give an overview of the American Indian Youth Literature Awards, highlight the 2020 award winners, and reflect on the impact of the awards on kidlit publishing.

All registrants will receive a copy of the recording 7 days after the webinar.听


Learning Outcomes

Become familiar with award-winning literature.
identify areas to improve collection development. 

Who Should Attend

Anyone involved in programming and collection development. 

Instructor

Cindy Hohl (Santee Sioux) is the President of the American Indian Library Association and she works as the Director of Branch Operations at the Kansas City Public Library. She also serves as a member of the Steering Committee for the Joint Council of Librarians of Color and she holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Baker University and a Bachelor of Science in Organizational Management and Leadership degree from Friends University. She is passionate about Indigenous Knowledge, leadership, literacy, and lifelong learning. 

Naomi Bishop, MLIS, is Akimel O'otham/Pima and a member of the Gila River Indian Community of Arizona. She served as President of the American Indian Library Association (AILA) from 2017-2018. Naomi chaired the American Indian Youth Literature Awards Committee from 2014-2018. She created an online module for librarians and educators on Indigeneity and Colonialism for Project Ready: Reimagining Equity & Access for Diverse Youth from an IMLS grant at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. She received her Masters of Library and Information Science degree from University of Washington in 2010. Naomi holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in German Studies from the University of Arizona. She is a member of the Medical Library Association; the American Indian Science and Engineering Society, and the American Indian Library Association. 

Registration

Cost

Free

How to Register

Register via zoom:听

Tech Requirements

A computer that can access Zoom with AV capabilities.听

Contact

Amber Hayes (ahayes@ala.org)