“Hijab Butch Blues” wins 2024 Stonewall Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

For Immediate Release
Mon, 02/05/2024


Anjali Jain

Program Officer, Community Engagement

Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS)


CHICAGO – “Hijab Butch Blues: A Memoir,” by Lamya H and published by The Dial Press, an imprint of Random House, a division of Penguin Random House is the 2024 recipient of the Stonewall Book Awards – Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award. The awards were announced by the ۰̨ͼ’s (ALA) Stonewall Book Awards during a virtual announcement.

The Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award is given annually to English-language works of biography, memoir, history, criticism, reference works, fine arts, etc. that are of exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.

The award will be presented to the winning authors or editors at the ۰̨ͼAnnual Conference & Exhibition in San Diego in June.

The Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Winner was named:

“Hijab Butch Blues: A Memoir,” written by Lamya H and published by The Dial Press, an imprint of Random House, a division of Penguin Random House

Four Israel Fishman Non-fiction Honor Titles were named:

“Everything I Learned, I Learned in a Chinese Restaurant: A Memoir” written by Curtis Chin and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group

“Glitter and Concrete: A Cultural History of Drag in New York City” written by Elyssa Maxx Goodman and published by Hanover Square Press, an imprint of HTP Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers

“Hi Honey, I’m Homo! Sitcoms, Specials, and the Queering of American Culture” written by Matt Baume and published by Smart Pop Books, and imprint of BenBella Books

“Miss Major Speaks: Conversations with a Black Trans Revolutionary” by Toshio Meronek and Miss Major Griffin-Gracy and published by Verso

The Stonewall Book Award Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Committee members are Jean-ann Marie Stump (Chair), Donna M. Braquet, Christine A. Jenkins, Matthew Weirick Johnson, Lisa N. Johnston, Michael D. Kirby, Laila Mai-Nguyen, Gregg Eric McCullough, and Rachel Paulus.

About the ۰̨ͼ
The ۰̨ͼ (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ۰̨ͼhas been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit.